The EGL Community
For Gothic & Lolita Fashion. Hosted by LiveJournal.
Review: Gothic Lolita Wigs 
26th-May-2011 12:29 am
This is a review of my bad experience dealing with this company. I've heard many good things about them, which is why I decided to buy from them. However after my own dealings with them, I would not buy from them again.

On the 26th February, I bought their wavy chocolate brown Lolita wig.

It arrived on 13th March, but it was certainly not what I had expected. I contacted them through their facebook account (Lolita Wigs) and they got back to me saying that it was likely a "lemon", and the next day I took some photos to show them the issues.

When I took the wig out of the bag and lightly shook it, some chunks of hair fell out. I was a little bit worried when this happened.

As you can see, the curls/waves are not as good as in the stock photo so the overall wig is much flatter and straighter. Lolita Wigs confirmed that it is not supposed to look like this. You may also notice a weird lump near the top of the wig.

More pictures of the knot: Here and Here
This is a close up of the weird lump. On their wigs, they have very short hair covering the netting to help prevent it showing through. On this particular wig though, the short hair seemed to be in a huge knot with some of the longer hair and I could not get it to lie flat. I didn't brush it out before I took these photos as I wanted to show it how it had arrived, but I tried later and I couldn't sort it at all. I later fixed this knot by cutting it out and using the hair that had fallen out to weft over the gap.

The short hair on the clip on ponytails was also a problem. It stuck out in such a way that it showed when clipped on:

And finally, the falls when clipped on. One of them was very stringy and frizzy while the other was flatter and nicely curled. I've since had to reset them.

After I sent the photos to them, they agreed to send out a replacement wig. I recieved this message on 15th March. They allowed me to keep this one so I fixed it up. They also allowed me to change my order to a different wig, so I wanted to go with a chocolatte since this bad wig had kind of disappointed me so much. They asked me if I would go for a 2G Chocolatte and I agreed.

At this point I was very happy with their customer service and was really pleased with how it was getting handled. I understand that sometimes things like this happen and they were working it out and had such good communication that I wasn't worried at all. However, I had not heard from them about my replacement wig for some time, so on 8th May I decided to contact them. I understood that they had had some delays, but I had not recieved any messages from them and they had only made one post about it on their facebook page so I wanted to know what was happening with my order.

My message on 8th May:

I'm sorry to have to send you a message again, however I am getting a bit worried about my replacement wig. It has now been nearly 4 weeks since our last contact, and I am starting to feel like you have forgotten about it.

I'm aware that you are very busy and that there has been delays with shipments, however it seems as though shipping dates have been constantly pushed back. If you are so busy, it seems strange to bring in even more new wigs with even more pre-orders and shipments. I was considering buying the long curly split brown/blonde, but decided against it due to the fact that I still haven't had my replacement wig from you.

Initially I was very pleased with your customer service, but now I am wondering if it is ever going to get sorted as I have been left in the dark for so long. If I don't hear back from you, I will likely be leaving bad feedback."

They replied quickly on 9th May:
"Hi Hester,

We apologize for the delay in shipment, we can definitely get it shipped out to you tomorrow. We can't choose which wigs come in first, so if a wig arrives, we present it. If you want the Long Curly Split, we can ship them together since it doesn't come with ponytails and can actually be packed together."

and then they sent out a second message on 10th May:

This is the 2nd time you have threatened to leave bad feedback, while we have gone out of our way to please you. We even let you keep the first wig without sending it back, and offered to upgrade your replacement to our blended series. We have over 2000 delayed pre-orders and are really backed up right now with a constant stream of messages and emails. The chocolattes were just shipped out last week, and we didn't ship yours out because we have you in the CL 2G file. We now have time to ask all those in that file to switch over to 1G because we the 2G didn't meet our standards. Please understand that we didn't forget you, it's just this delay has really put a strain on our operations.

Please let us know what you'd like as a replacement. Would the 1G be OK?"

I was a little shocked by their response. I can understand being stressed by being overwhelmed by orders but I was not aware of the problems with the 2G wig as there had been no communication, not even on their facebook page. The other part that bothered me was that they were rude in the second message, not the first.

I replied right away:

I am confused as to why you have replied to my message twice with two completely different messages. I don't appreciate the rude and aggressive tone of your second message though. I am not threatening you, I am just letting you know that is my intention, as I don't want to leave bad feedback without a good reason. I want to talk over the problems and see if we can sort it out. I was planning on leaving good feedback once the transaction was completed, however it's quickly feeling as though you are not interested in your customers' concerns. I understand that you have a lot of orders to deal with and that there have been delays in the shipment, however it is unfair to customers to be left in the dark. We do not know what is happening behind the scenes so just keeping quiet is obviously going to make people worry. This is the first I have heard about the quality issue with the 2G. Please understand that the Lolita community has had more than its share of scammers and problematic companies so when money is involved, it becomes a little more serious. I'm not saying that your company is a scammer/problem company, however people are going to be cautious when there are as many delays as there have been.

It's also a cause for concern that you are able to design and promote new wigs, special commissions, photoshoots and competitions, however you can't find time to send a message to customers waiting.

When I originally bought a wig from you, I did not expect it to arrive tangled/frizzy, already loosing the curls and falling apart. I wasn't looking for a wig project, I was looking for a wig I could wear without too much work.

At this point I’m just getting a bit fed up of waiting and not knowing, so please let me know what you actually have in stock so I can pick a replacement from that."

They responded on the same day very quickly:
"Two messages were sent because we realized that the reason you seemed to be overlooked was that you were in the CL 2G file. We were not taking an aggressive tone with you and apologize if it came out as such. That was not our intention. We were just bewildered by your threats of bad reviews when we are really trying to make things right with you.

We release new wigs as they arrive because we use 5 different factories to keep up with our demand, and not all wigs arrive according to the schedule we hope."

I recieved my replacement wig earlier this week. The packaging was a little bit battered and the top was opened a little bit:
Photo 1
Photo 2
Photo 3
Photo 4
While the damage was obviously done during transit and is down to the postage company, I wish it had been packaged better. The wig inside is only protected by the plastic bag so any moisture would get in (the plastic bag does have holes in it, like all wig bags) any if anything sharp had caught then it could have gone through the bag and damaged the wig. However this feels a bit like nitpicking as the wig did arrive in decent condition.

Edit: Adding in photos of the replacement wig. It's a lot thinner than in the stock photo, and I have been informed by a friend that their wigs have been getting thinner. I am disappointed with this wig as I have seen the chocolatte in person before and it looks nothing like the one they have sent me, however I'm not sure how far I'll get by complaining yet again.

(end of edit)

Overall - 2/5
Overall I would not deal with this company again. I understand that there are delays but when you keep your customers in the dark and then expect them to know and understand about all the problems you are having, it's very unreasonable. However, the problem was eventually resolved.

Shipping times - 5/5 for the first wig, 2/5 for the second
For the first wig, shipping time was very reasonable. It arrived in under 2 weeks.
For the second wig, shipping time was a pain. It's taken over 4 weeks!

Quality - 1/5 for the first wig, 4/5 for the second
The first wig was obviously really bad quality, but the second wig is fine. However, I should mention that their wigs are NOT heat resistant! I'm not sure if some of them are and some of them aren't, but the one I bought said it was and honestly, my non-heat resistant wig can take higher temperatures.

Customer service - 2/5
They were friendly and helpful at first but then they stopped communicating and they were rather rude.
25th-May-2011 11:40 pm (UTC)
:/ *unimpressed face*

I specifically find the fact that one side of the ponytail is so much curlier/fuller than the other kind of lol.
25th-May-2011 11:42 pm (UTC)
It looked so stupid. I ended up straightening them and re-curling them just to be even.
25th-May-2011 11:46 pm (UTC)
I'm shocked at the state your first wig turned up! My friend has the same wig and it was just like the stock pic! What shocked me more was the arsey messgaes from Gothic Loita wigs..."Bewildered???" Whatever! You were quite polite in the messages, probable more so than I would have been in this situation. I was tempted by the wigs as I'm a member of the facebook group, but this in addition to constant delays leaves me thinking I'll be looking elsewhere!
25th-May-2011 11:50 pm (UTC)
So was I. I'd seen a couple of their wigs in person too, so I was really looking forward to it arriving. Normally I enjoy spending time and styling wigs, but I got this one because I wanted something I could wear right away since my health is really preventing me from doing major work on wigs right now. I understand that sometimes there are delays but it was getting ridiculous and I was upset that they took it out on me when I was only asking what was going on! They actually said in a previous message (one after I sent them the photos) to send them a message the following week and remind them since it was hectic with all the shipments.
25th-May-2011 11:48 pm (UTC)
can we get a picture of your replacement wig to see the difference between the two?
26th-May-2011 12:03 am (UTC)
26th-May-2011 12:29 am (UTC)
It's a little weird that they sent out a messed up wig in the first place, but it reads to me like they're just getting a little overwhelmed. I think you're being a little bit reactionary about the second message. I didn't see it as being terribly rude. They let you know the situation once they had realized what happened, and they also offered to get you a different wig that might help make up for the delay because the one you had ordered was not up to standards. They seem a little frazzled, maybe, but not rude.

Honestly, though, it's not common for a business to let you keep the item that they messed up on and let you have a new (nicer) one at the same time. I think they made an effort to make it right. Whether or not that effort was enough is something that only you can decide.
26th-May-2011 12:40 am (UTC)
Perhaps it isn't that rude, but it did rub me the wrong way. I know it's not common for them to let me keep the product but I was originally asking for a partial refund as international shipping is quite expensive. Even if a business is frazzled, I don't feel it's appropriate to speak to a customer in that way.

I know that they made an effort to make up for it, and I am grateful, but due to running into one problem after another after another, I feel that the negative review is deserved. I was debating between neutral and negative, but my personal experience was a negative one. There are many positive reviews from people too, which is what prompted me to buy from them in the first place.
26th-May-2011 01:01 am (UTC)
that's disappointing :/ I had planned on getting something from them, but now probably not, unless they get their backlogs straight. Thanks for the review!
26th-May-2011 11:52 am (UTC)
I'm glad you found it helpful. It really is the backlog that is causing them the biggest problem, although they do need to tighten their quality control (but perhaps this is an issue from the factories rather than Gothic Lolita Wigs?)
26th-May-2011 01:03 am (UTC)
it's true that their communication has gotten worse these days (true for me at least)
they were very helpful and communicative before regarding order questions and such
however when I inquired them about a problem (their classic series has 2 different cuts), they didn't reply to either my e-mail or facebook PM. I have a feeling that they only reply to messages when you specifically post on their wall asking for a reply
I don't like the way they replied to you in that 2nd message either. It sounds aggressive to me.
I was planning to order a few more wigs once I hear back from them. But looks like I'll be looking elsewhere :/
26th-May-2011 02:47 am (UTC)
I asked multiple times on their FB about how they took custom orders and the cost. I kept getting ignored so I decided it wasn't worth it >.>
26th-May-2011 01:15 am (UTC)
They get snappy quick, and delete any questioning, or comments concerning the wigs. Its been "Oh, the wigs are comming out next week, they are comming next week!", and its been this way since April. I ordered wigs for a con in April, and still..nothing.
2000 wigs missing is over $90,000 dollars unaccounted for, from GLW, and thats alot of peoples money out there for back orders? And at the same time, they are taking commissions from other people, and going to conventions.

Their quality and services was so well, but it seems they've fallen down the realm of other lolita companies, taking on too much, too fast and being unable to control it. Even the packaging went from quality and good, with tons of extra business cards, to just a wig thrown in a box.

I'm hoping for them to turn around, but it looks grim..
26th-May-2011 02:13 am (UTC)
Heh, I'll be surprised if they can finish 2011 with their reputation intact, considering summertime is the height of convention season.
26th-May-2011 01:29 am (UTC)
I just LOVED your second reply; you were only excercising your customer rights and it was really rude of them and you did raise some very good points. And what's up with them throwing the word 'threat' left and right?? Perhaps they should be 'threatened' with the Better Business Bureau. Maybe then they would actually understand the meaning of that word.
26th-May-2011 10:55 am (UTC)
Thank you! I have no idea why they took it that way. I suppose defensive? It was more that they went away and came back to write that second message. Makes no sense! The childish attitude really puts me off dealing with them.
26th-May-2011 01:57 am (UTC)
:/ Sounds like they're trying to grow too fast and couldn't handle it. I'd wait until they got settled before trying to order anything again... <_< Sorry to hear your wigs didn't turn out so well!
26th-May-2011 10:57 am (UTC)
Yes, I agree. But at the same time, they are just digging themselves deeper by taking on more pre-orders despite not sending out the existing ones. I wish they would just slow down and sort the problems out rather than creating more mess.
26th-May-2011 01:59 am (UTC)
What a bummer, I've been considering getting one but maybe I missed the good-quality boat haha.
26th-May-2011 11:00 am (UTC)
My friend got the Chocolatte wig when it was first released and even looking at photos comparing the two, my replacement one is definitely darker and much thinner. They're supposedly the same model too. Maybe they will pick up again when the problems with the 2G styles (supposed to be thicker) is fixed.
26th-May-2011 02:01 am (UTC)
that sucks to hear, sorry for your experience! i haven't had any issues with them so far and i've ordered online twice (i ordered fairly recently as well). it seems like they're having problems keeping up with the demand, forcing a lot of delays.

i hadn't seen the quality be so different from the stock pic yet. i think they're going to have a booth at fanime con this weekend, so i'll definitely take a browse to see if the quality is different.

26th-May-2011 11:03 am (UTC)
It seems like it's very hit or miss with them. Some people seem to be getting good service and good quality and others getting bad service and bad quality. It really is a shame because I was rather excited to get my wigs!

Please let me know if you find that their quality has changed. I'd feel better knowing it's an overall change rather than being unlucky and getting two bad wigs.
26th-May-2011 02:25 am (UTC)
Thank you so much for the in-depth reviews. I had been considering buying a wig from them, but for now I'll certainly look elsewhere.
26th-May-2011 11:07 am (UTC)
I would advise to get wigs from other places, at least while they are dealing with such a back log of orders. I don't want to say they're a terrible company, but at the same time they're so swamped down with orders that they aren't delivering their products, bad wigs are slipping through too easily and their customer service has gone downhill.
26th-May-2011 02:51 am (UTC)
I just love how much power one person can have on this Lolita community. I don't think businesses realize just how powerful one pissed Lolita can be, because look how many people are steering clear now because of this one post! I know I am lol. Excellent review
26th-May-2011 11:13 am (UTC)
You have a point! I didn't expect as many people to say that they will be avoiding them. But then, a lot of people that I spoke to when these problems first came up said that they were no longer dealing with Gothic Lolita Wigs due to problems they had had. Maybe this is just the tip of the iceberg?
26th-May-2011 03:24 am (UTC)
Oh wow, the base of that second wig does look rather flimsy compared to other pictures of their wigs.
26th-May-2011 11:16 am (UTC)
It is. The worst thing is that my friend has the same wig but bought it when they first released this blend, and looking at the pictures hers is a lot fuller. I'm going to compare them properly next time I see her.
26th-May-2011 03:26 am (UTC)
Thanks for writing this review! I had exactly the same level of TERRIBLE customer service from GLW. I pre-ordered a Strawberries & Cream wig back in February, shortly after which they emailed asking if I was okay with the look of the new 2G design. I said I loved it, and then didn't hear from them ever again, until I saw on Facebook that they had shipped other people's Strawberries and Cream wigs, but not mine! I emailed them, and it turned out that they hadn't sent mine because I was filed in the 2g category, like you. But HELLO? They didn't even email to let me know that the original wig was in stock! By the time they answered my email, which was early this month (May), they didn't even have it anymore. So 3 months, no communication, no wig. And no more of my business. I took a Hime wig (in stock) and a generous partial refund instead.
26th-May-2011 11:21 am (UTC)
I'm so sorry to hear that! That's so bad they treated you badly too.
It seems like they didn't want to tell anyone on the 2G list that they weren't able to send them out. I wonder why there are so many issues with this 2G but then I also wonder why they don't bother telling anyone unless you contact them first. I'm glad it got kind of sorted for you in the end.
26th-May-2011 03:57 am (UTC)
Keep in mind that they're also a cosplay wig seller, and con season is in full force. I'm not surprised at all at how backed up they are, and unfortunately agree that they probably grew too fast and can't handle it. Same thing happened to Cosworx/ Shopping in the past 2-3 years, and that aftermath decimated their rep pretty well, too (especially after they bought out Epic Cosplay and made their service go down the drain).
26th-May-2011 05:28 am (UTC)
That sucks about EC, I had a chance to work next to them last year before the whole CosWorx thing and they were really good guys. Did Cosworx actually buy them out or are they just wholesaling + marking up prices on their wigs? EC is still going to cons, and EC is selling the same wigs for cheaper than Cosworx has them.
26th-May-2011 04:07 am (UTC)
I am really not impressed with them... I have a couple wigs that I like, but as you said, their wigs are advertised as "high temperature fibres" when they are not. One of mine melted when I used my straightener on it set to low. When I e-mailed them about it, they didn't reply. I would rather order my wigs elsewhere, since they don't seem to have things together. I'd probably only buy from them again at conventions, since you can see what you're getting.
26th-May-2011 09:33 am (UTC)
Wow, I hadn't heard of that :O Surely they're not allowed to advertise the wig as heat resistant when it isn't?
26th-May-2011 04:29 am (UTC)
I'm sorry to hear about what you went through. What a hassle. I was also considering ordering from them, but I think I will wait now. With any luck, people will see the beginnings of this business going downhill and stop ordering. Maybe with a reduction in orders, they will be able to get back on track with their orders and customer service. One can hope ^^
26th-May-2011 11:34 am (UTC)
We can only hope! I think once they get their business back on track they will be a lot better.
26th-May-2011 05:29 am (UTC)
That sucks! I was considering ordering through them as well but I might take my chances with eBay instead.
26th-May-2011 11:37 am (UTC)
A lot of my best wigs come from ebay and cost less than from Gothic Lolita Wigs. That's why I was so disappointed.
26th-May-2011 05:45 am (UTC)
That's really unfortunate! Your ChocoLatte wig does look a lot thinner than mine, and it also looks darker (though that might just be the camera). I love mine, but I probably won't get another one until things settle down. It does sound like they got too big, too fast, and can't keep up with the demand. Hopefully they can get things sorted out and go back to the old quality.
26th-May-2011 11:41 am (UTC)
It might be the lighting but having seen one of the original batch in person, I would say mine is a little darker (at least the dark brown streaks are a lot more obvious so maybe that makes it look darker). It definitely is a lot thinner though. I'm really disappointed! I hope they sort themselves out because their range is so good and they used to be a decent company.
26th-May-2011 06:22 am (UTC)
That is just ridiculus. The second wig you got is horribly flat without the falls, I would be so dissapointed! I was, like a fair many here, looking into ordering with them, but now? I'll be searching around. Hopefully they can really pull themselves together, because some of the wigs I have seen are gorgious.
Thank you for such an informative cautionary review! :D
26th-May-2011 11:42 am (UTC)
I'm glad you found my review useful. I really am very disappointed with how they are, both in customer service and the wigs themselves. I'm hoping that once they sort out the backlog of orders and sort themselves out so it doesn't happen again, they'll go back to how they used to be. At the moment though, it's not looking good!
26th-May-2011 07:54 am (UTC)
I am really disappointed. Their wigs are just gorgeous and I was thinking of ordering one from them soon.. Guess I'll have to look at another place now.
26th-May-2011 01:19 pm (UTC)
Is there a specific style you're after?
26th-May-2011 10:05 am (UTC)
Wow! Their wigs AREN'T heat resistant? I was going to re-curl mine... I think I better leave it. I also have the chocolatte wig and mine is pretty thin too :(

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. I'm thinking of buying wigs elsewhere...
26th-May-2011 11:47 am (UTC)
There's a few methods of curling non-heat resistant wigs. I did that to the chocolate brown one once I figured out it wasn't heat resistant. Just put in cold hair curlers and use a hair dryer on a low setting. Hold it over each curler for 10-20 seconds. Go round a few times and it should have set in some curls without melting it. Always test on a part of the wig that can't be seen first though if you are unsure of what you're doing.

The Chocolatte is pretty long though so you might find it easier to get a curling iron, using it cold and wrapping the hair around so it's like a long spiral rather than rolled on top of itself and then using the hair dryer. It'll just allow you to reach all the hair rather than ending up with only the top parts curled.
26th-May-2011 10:26 am (UTC)
WOW I mean, I remember you showing me the pictures when we were on skype but this is absurd. that chocolatte 2G looks different to mine. It's just so much thinner and darker blend...
But yes you can indeed borrow my chocolatte to compare the quality. This seems beyond a joke.
I wanted a blonde wig from GLW but after their snappy response regarding a commission I was asking for and seeing how badly their quality has gone in a year... I think I won't bother buying from them again.
26th-May-2011 11:49 am (UTC)
The sad thing is, this is the 1G so it's supposed to be exactly the same as yours. They haven't got any 2Gs because of a stock issue. We shall have to compare though, definitely. I want to see how big a difference! We need to meet up soon anyway.

I'm still shocked at their response when you spoke to them. The point of special commission is so that they don't have to make wigs that they think won't sell well in big batches! Honestly I will not be buying from them again, they just treat their customers so badly.
26th-May-2011 11:47 am (UTC)
Thanks for the review. I am always curious about wig quality because so many places have stock photos that look way nicer than their actual products. Sucks that their communication was so bad :( Seems like their quality and customer service is going steeply downhill nowadays. Guess I'll stick to Cyperous and Priscilla as safer bets >_>
26th-May-2011 11:51 am (UTC)
I'm glad you found the review helpful! Yes, I will be sticking with Cyperous from now on. Their quality control seems a lot better and I have not heard of anyone having any problems with them. Gothic Lolita Wigs used to have very good communication and quality but it seems like it's gone downhill for some reason. It's disappointing but I will just have to take this as a lesson and not buy from them again.
Page 1 of 2
<<[1] [2] >>
This page was loaded , : m GMT.